« Release reviews

Sportfreunde Stiller - Burli

Reviewed by Rall on 9th September 2005

Despite the fact that me nor anyone I know has ever heard of Sportfreunde Stiller, I don't think it really matters. They seem pretty damn popular with our German cousins. They've even toured with people I've actually heard of - Franz, the Zutons, Nada Surf and Ash according to the magazine they sent (which appears to be some kind of fan club magazine and even includes a list of '101 reasons to be a Sportfreunde-fan').

SS are a three piece with, for this album at least, a late-Britpop kind of sound (their logo instantly reminded me of Supergrass). This is most noticeable on tracks such as the opener for the album Lauth Anhören (which I think might translate as listen louder) and Ungewwöhnlich (unusual, complete with McFly harmonies). There's definitely a bit of a late Feeder about them. Im Namen der Freundschaft, despite it's cheesy lyrics, has a definite summer of '95 feel to it, complete with 'ba-ba-bah'-ing.

They look and occasionally sound like they want to be a bit heavier than they are e.g. Wir Kommen (was hier los ist!!!), Ich, Roque and 1. Wahl, but they are at least the better tracks. If only because I think they're a bit funny.

Sportfreunde Stiller look like your normal uni band. Only having now also listened to the lLive album they sent, I now believe that they're actually quite good. So see if you're around on the dates below...

  • Wed 14th Sept - Brixton Windmill
  • Thu 15th Sept - London Garage
  • Fri 16th Sept - London Metro

Rating: 7/10
Website: sportfreunde-stiller.de

Comments

Gravatar ladria says:-

Hey, here´s a sportfreundin from germany! they are the best, but i think to understand their lyrics, you must be pretty good in german language! the lyrics make them special! best album: die gute Seite!

12th September 2005 @ 14:11:05 GMT

Gravatar Eis33 says:-

Yeeeeeaaaaah!

12th September 2005 @ 14:12:06 GMT

Gravatar ra says:-

it's a german thing.....

12th September 2005 @ 16:45:09 GMT

Gravatar Christian says:-

No no no it`s international!

12th September 2005 @ 19:31:03 GMT

Gravatar Tina says:-

Sportfreunde Stiller 4 ever!

13th September 2005 @ 07:21:04 GMT

Gravatar Daniel says:-

Think the lyrics are a bit special and not at all easy to understand for any non-native german speaker. But be assured they're great for most of the songs. They vary from straight punk style (1.Wahl) up to pretty good poetry with a big deal of pun every now and then. When it comes to the music there's no question about like or dislike. It's plain that the guys like what they're doing. You feel it listening to the records, all of them. And you feel it on there live shows. Ok, most of the time the songs are pretty simple but nonetheless moving. You just can't sit still and listen to them. But there are some songs ("Fast wie von selbst", "Willkommen im Club") that resemble a more symphonic style of music. Especially "Fast wie von selbst" is a song of about 4 minutes. But it feels like a little symphony of 8 to 9 minutes and when it's finished you feel you could have like half an hour more of this one.

So, I highly recommend to attend a show if your round there.

Besides: I just lately have been converted to be kind of a fan for Sportfreunde Stiller. Giv'em a chance and you'll be an addict right on the spot.

13th September 2005 @ 09:45:42 GMT

Gravatar andy says:-

In one of their last german shows they played in the sold out olympic hall in munich with about 15000 fans!

13th September 2005 @ 10:10:51 GMT

Gravatar Caroline says:-

Hi you all
i am a sportfreundin from germany and because of it my english is not the best.
the guys, peter,flo and rüde are so friendly. to hear their music is like to have drugs. the concerts are indescribable and unforgettable (i saw them the last time in august, wow!!!!!). you talk about their lyrics; yes ehmm...they sing about love, friendship, peace and other things. hey, when you can go to this event: GO!!!!
greetings from germany

13th September 2005 @ 13:46:08 GMT

Gravatar Alex says:-

Hey guys!

I was at a club concert in Germany and could play the drums in one song... they made a big big party!! My shirt was totally wet!! Just go out to these dates, i would do everything to be there!!

13th September 2005 @ 16:06:51 GMT

Gravatar mickey^^ says:-

hey, I am from germany, too. if the the sportfreunde are on stage it's just a big, big pardey! i saw them live two times and i want to see them againT^T but i have to wait till they're on tour in germany again.. maybe next year..? don't miss those events in england!

13th September 2005 @ 18:38:06 GMT

Gravatar Anka says:-

hey,i'm from germany too. i have to say,sportfreunde stiller are the best band ever! i saw them in august (frequency) they were perfect! i love them.

13th September 2005 @ 19:36:35 GMT

Gravatar Rall says:-

You know I get a prize for the most comments... so thank you all!

I sincerely apologise for my atrocious reviewing ability. I did try to translate some of the lyrics, but it's been 4 years since my German A-level, and I've bearly remembered how to find my way to the train station!

13th September 2005 @ 20:35:25 GMT

Gravatar ladyoftherings says:-

hi! I´m from Germany and I think "sportfreunde Stiller" are great.
But you should know, that the lyrics are great-if cou hear them in German. But it´s a little bit complicated to translate it in English.
For example: "ich Roque" or "Laut(h) anhören"
Roque Santa cruz and Benjamin Lauth are German soccers , you know???

But the music is very, very nice in English too. It´s a pitty, that you can´t understand the lyrics so good.

14th September 2005 @ 18:59:58 GMT

Gravatar Rall says:-

Unfortunately, even if I could I could speak fluent German I wouldn't know that because I HATE football.

14th September 2005 @ 20:37:37 GMT

Gravatar Andreas says:-

yeah, football is quite bad.

15th September 2005 @ 16:43:56 GMT

Gravatar sina says:-

they are actually the best band we have over here(and everywhere else, in my oppinion)... but i guess like it's been said before, you have to be able to understand there lyrics... and the little specialties, like Lauth anhören(according to a german footballplayer) or ich roque(which is another football player)... okay, i know my language is kind of crappy and i'm going to stop here...;) wish i could see any of these shows, because they aren't playing much over here these days...

15th September 2005 @ 18:57:38 GMT

Gravatar Rall says:-

On the subject of football players, what on earth is this 'Mahmet Scholl Kompliert' thing? It looks like random football player picks songs that sell or something.

15th September 2005 @ 21:28:48 GMT

Gravatar eva says:-

i'm from austria and i love the sportfreunde stiller.... they are great, especially at their live-concerts! the atmosphere there is unbelievable... they are really likeable and nice!
best wishes from far away, eva

16th September 2005 @ 15:19:10 GMT

Gravatar germansportfan says:-

yes the lyrics are quite difficult for no german speakers, but they're the best band on earth :) espacially live, there is a GREAT atmosphere there! respect that they're now INTERNATIONAL ( which is also a name of a very great song)
best wishes to all sportfreunde stiller fans, lu

17th September 2005 @ 11:06:14 GMT

Gravatar David says:-

Sportfreunde stiller is great! The lyrics are really great as well. I am fluent in German, english and spanish. "Ich roque", They are saying 'I rock', but, like we do in english, they replaced their word for rock, 'rocke' with Roque santa cruz's name. Therefore, meaning the same thing, but with a different spelling. I am American, sportfreunde is truley international and is spreading. Der sporties rocke!

18th September 2005 @ 05:46:41 GMT

Gravatar Lisa says:-

go, listen and enjoy! make your own opinion and see what it's like to be a "sportfreund"
i know that's not the best english, but i'm also from germany...

18th September 2005 @ 17:32:11 GMT

Gravatar mh says:-

i think sportfreunde stiller is such a bad band.. the lyrics are just shit, and the chords are always the same. i don't understand why they are so popular..

19th September 2005 @ 13:51:18 GMT

Gravatar Achim says:-

@Rall:

"Mehmet Scholl kompiliert" means, that the football player Mehmet Scholl (from Bayern Munich) has chosen some of his favourite songs and compiled them to a playlist. Scholl is a fan of the Sportfreunde and generally loves rock music a lot. - BTW, it's pretty funny that there are two big football clubs in Munich, the well-known Bayern and the muss less successful 1860 Munich. Two of the Sportfreunde are supporting the Bayern, the other one (like most people living in the city of Munich) 1860.

21st September 2005 @ 14:06:50 GMT

Gravatar rory says:-

@Achim: only Peter is supporting the Bayern.

23rd September 2005 @ 08:23:16 GMT

Gravatar HalfRoque says:-

I think Sportfreunde stiller are very German! The best band ever! I Love Their Lyrics, because they are about LIVING IN OUR WORLD! All the bad things but also the good things are included there! perhaps they have the same life like Me!
(-;
Sorry for my mistakes!
I'M from bavaria!
:-)

23rd September 2005 @ 12:19:09 GMT

Gravatar Friedrich says:-

Sportfreunde are definitely incredible, and on a live event unforgettable. I've never seen a crowd going more insane than there :)

stagedivers from the front to the back. I will never forget that one, and the next time I get the opportunity I'll be there again!

btw. when will be a new album out? I can't wait :)

1st October 2005 @ 13:30:59 GMT

Gravatar Anna says:-

Hey guys!
I really love the Sporties,and I was so sad that I couldn't come over to see their great shows in London!Hope you guys had fun and rocked a lot!To everyone who is not that good in german: you will like the music without knowing exactly what a song is about,you feel it!
Im Namen der Freundschaft
Anna

2nd October 2005 @ 10:58:43 GMT

Gravatar rory says:-

rall, have you been in london to see the shows?

8th October 2005 @ 09:28:41 GMT

Gravatar Anna says:-

Hey!
I LOVE the Sporties! I saw them live in Mainz (Germany) last year, and it was the best live- event I've ever been here in Germany. They rock, and they are so friendly and nice. You can meet a lot of great poeple there, cause most of the Sporties fans are cool and crazy. Their lyrics are outstanding, especially when you understand them perfectly. Sometimes, you just think they speak right from the ground of your heart, it's great. So, if you have the chance to see them live, go for it! It's really worth it. And I'm gonna see them next year on Rock am Ring again ;) Go Sporties!
Cheers from germany, Anna

24th December 2005 @ 22:06:26 GMT

Gravatar Madeleine says:-

I love Sportfreunde Stiller
They're awesome!
Soo.. check my fotolog about them
:D
fotolog.com/einkompliment

3rd January 2007 @ 03:11:38 GMT

Add a comment

Comments are currently disabled.

  • Bookmark